GGeorge Campbell head shoteorge Campbell is a board member of the Recycling Foundation.  He has served as Mayor of Portland, Maine, and as Commissioner of both the Maine and New Hampshire Departments of Transportation.  In addition to his public service, Campbell has had a distinguished career in the private sector, where he has led multiple successful public/private partnerships.

During Campbell’s tenure as Mayor of Portland, the city instituted a successful pay-as-you-throw program in 1999. PAYT has led to a dramatic increase in Portland’s recycling rate, from below 7% before the program began to around 37% today.

In the private sector, he has served as the President at Pierce Atwood Strategies, President of CBRE/The Boulos Company, and President and owner of Governmental Services Inc.  He recently served as the Vice President of Services for the consulting firm Louis Berger.  Mr. Campbell also currently serves as Chairman of the Advisory Board for Treadwell Franklin Infrastructure Capital.

Mr. Campbell has served as President of the Maine Municipal Association and the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials, and on the boards of the Maine Board of Environmental Protection, the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials, and the Maine Turnpike Authority. He founded the Corporate Conservation Council of Maine, an organization that provides business expertise and financial support to The Nature Conservancy to protect land, water, and natural communities in Maine.

Mr. Campbell has helped raise millions of dollars in private philanthropy for organizations that serve the public good.  He recently joined the University of Maine System in December of 2015 and currently serves as the President of its Foundation and the Interim CEO for Maine Center Ventures (MCV).

Mr. Campbell earned both a BA and an MA in Public Administration from the University of Maine. He has won numerous awards, including the Neal Allen Award for Public Service from the Portland Chamber of Commerce, the Transportation Leadership Award from the Institute of Transportation Engineers New England Section, Person of the Year from the Propeller Club of the United States, and Spurwink Humanitarian of the Year.